September 18, 2010

Powerboat GPS - Siracusa Sprint Race

Siracusa presented itself with similar conditions to the previous Powerpole day for Round nine of the World Championship race of the Grand Prix of the Sea series. The weather was tight in a moderate to rough sea state with waves of an average one metre in height making this unique course actually more challenging to what normally is. Today's race was also characterized by a dominion from start to finish in both the classes.
Team Al&Al and 22 Big Sergio continue to build results and after the first win in Poltu Quatu continue to show incredible power taking a second race of the season, here dominating from start to finish. The lap times of the Big Sergio Outerlimits SV40 where also incredible with a best of 4:01,80, three with four minutes two seconds mark, and all accept for the final lap under four minutes ten seconds mark. Rookie team 81 Karelpiu show their growing confidence too taking another podium with the Fountain having less to a minute distance from the Outerlimits powerboat. The best lap of the Fountain was a 4:03,41 which comes as the fifth better lap of the circuit, all better results being done by 22 Big Sergio. Third place for the 2010 season rookie drivers but 2009 World Championship boat Seagull Chaudron. Another good fourth place with less to two minutes distance from the first for the Yanmar diesel powered 06 Jolly Drive. Fifth for the 2007, and 08 champion 41 feet Chaudron hull of Kenon Cafe here making part of the Italian Championship teams. A sixth worst place, which comes to fifth in World Championship challengers for this season for 38 Baia Attolini. Was it too much celebrations for the Italian team who took World title two races in advance? A last place with a two laps delay for the FPT diesel powered Zeta build 18 F. Di Cesare Riscaldamenti.
1. 33 Furnibo =
2. 88 SNAV-Kiton
3. 60 Metamarine Foresti&Sguardi
4. 55 Ukrainian Spirit
5. 77 Lucas Oil Scandinavian Offshore Challenge
6. 66 Cranfields Wine - Carconnex
7. 47 Silverline
1. 22 Big Sergio = 9 laps 35:57,43
2. 81 Karelpiu = 36:40,95
3. 43 Seagull Chaudron = 37:26,04
4. 06 Jolly Drive = 37:36,54
5. 44 Kenon Cafe = 37:40,50
6. 38 Baia Attolini = 37:53,13
7. 18 F. Di Cesare Riscaldamenti = 37:07,72 -2laps

No comments:

Post a Comment